Battle of the Charities

It seems within the past 2 years, the theme of charity racing is popping up on your facebook, twitter feeds or emails.  A tactic using guerrilla marketing (aggressive) is trending so much that you wonder if the person is a friend true to the cause, or a sleazy salesman in disguise. The majority of us have limited funds; but if you don’t – donate away! A big reason for the rise is that many people are using charities to gain race entries.  So the likelihood of you having to choose between multiple friends’ charity campaigns sky rockets.  It can be conflicting as you don’t want to offend someone by donating to a competing cause and still want to remain friends.  All I can do is suggest guidelines and questions I ask myself:

  1. Check out the cause… does it line up with your moral beliefs? There are many cancer charities out there… but my jaw dropped when I saw Susan G. Komen partner with many businesses that are questionable, such as KFC buckets for pink.  What!? The food KFC makes has cancer causing products in their food!   At that most the money went to marketing campaigns, very little to support or research.

2) What is the person’s personal connection with the charity?  Did they just randomly select one, or does it have an altruistic meaning to them?

3) Does your friend’s tactics seem over aggressive (spamming their charity link on your facebook page)? Do they thank people who donated to the cause in a non-generic manner?

4) Perhaps break down your donation into smaller pieces and give something to each one.  The act of GIVING should matter, not the dollar amount. So yes, I end on this note that I am participating in a charity to run the New York City Marathon with Bessy who qualified.  I gave you some guidelines now it is up to you to decide if you wish to help out this charity I chose. https://www.crowdrise.com/TeamBCRFNYC2015/fundraiser/rogerleszczynski I had over 300 to choose from, some which gave me fancy personal benefits…. but I shun the benefits so I can get the best charity to help others out.

Leave a Reply

