Diet Talk.

I like to keep foods as raw as possible, since cooking diminishes fiber and micro nutrients.

My dinner fuels me mainly for my morning run, which could be:

 

  • Big salad: sun dried tomato, raw beets or raw yams, spinach/kale, peppers, raw blue cheese or avocado,  walnuts. Topped with protein: grilled chicken sausages, fatty salmon, eggs, bacon, or red meat.
  • BBQ ribs with raw carrots and olives.
  • If it’s pre-race dinner, I up the carbs and fat on 1 to 1 basis, so bread and butter is a good add on.

Morning – Before the Workout: Black coffee with dark chocolate before run (10 miles or more)

Morning – After the Workout: I like scone/cookies/bread with whey. 3 carbs to 1 protein ratio for recovery.  These baked items I make sure contain no transfats (canola oil, soybean oil, margarine, shortening, monoglycerides) – normally they use real butter. Since the liver doesn’t have an enzyme to break down transfats, they just stick around in your arteries – ultimately slowing you down. In addition, transfats are known to lower HDL cholesterol (testosterone). This meal is about 20g protein 60g carb ~ 400 cal.

Breakfast: After the short recovery I am ready for the next activity – bike to work. When I arrive I have another refuel: Trader Joe’s Fiber Flakes with natural peanut butter, and 1.5 scoops whey.  40g protein, 40g carb ~400 cal

Lunch, I have done about 12 bike miles, and have 20 more to go.  So it is similar to dinner.

Evening – After Workout: Sometimes I hit the pool after work, followed by another meal of 2 quest bars or fat free greek yogurt (i try to avoid pasteurized fats) with nuts.

Similar to my power lifting days, my base macros are the same… 250g protein, 250g carb, 90+g fat.  Fueling beyond my base for workouts depends on the distance planned:

1 run mile = 4 bike miles = 500yd swim = 100 calories roughly

(Formula: 1 cal per 1kg body weight per 1km run).

  1. Long distance efforts, where more oxygen is available to aid in the breakdown, burn more fat for fuel
  2. Short fast efforts, where less oxygen is created, benefit from the power of the carb but needs to be replenished every 400g burned!
  3. Shortest/intense efforts use creatine stores to burn, but your creatine stores are limited to 30 seconds max.
Leave a Reply

